Peanut Butter Bars

Happy Wednesday! Today, I find myself writing yet another blog post that consists of a recipe involving peanut butter. My husband insists that peanut butter is it’s own food group, so I’m always making something that includes it ๐Ÿ™‚

This recipe is one that was used in my elementary school lunches but I’ve never made it before! I saw it posted on social media a few weeks back and knew I had to give it a shot ๐Ÿ™‚ I did tweak a few things but it turned out to be a pretty easy recipe and my husband loved it – win, win!

The ingredients for the bars include:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 oz applesauce
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2/3 cup peanut butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups oats

wp-1452118590253.jpg

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and combine all the bar ingredients together in a mixer. Pour the mix into a sprayed, 9×13 pan and bake for about 15 minutes. While it is baking, you can start the icing ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients for the icing include:

  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

wp-1452118693288.jpg

Combine all the ingredients in a mixer and spread it onto the bars once they are cooled! And the only thing left to do is enjoy your creation ๐Ÿ™‚

wp-1452118777057.jpg

Leave a Reply

