Blueberry Banana Oat Muffins

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I decided to make my hubby some homemade muffins yesterday for Valentine’s Day and after a little research I decided to try my hand at blueberry banana oat muffins. I kind of just threw this recipe together from scratch but the hubby approved so I will take that as a win 🙂

I did not use any sugar but substituted for honey instead and used applesauce instead of butter. I also used whole wheat flour to make them even healthier!

Ingredients I used:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup blueberries (frozen is fine!)
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 oz applesauce

First, preheat your oven to 400 degree. Use a fork to mash up the banana in a medium size bowl. Add the milk, vanilla, honey, and egg. Stir until combined. Next, mix in the flour and baking powder. Fold in the oats and blueberries last.

wp-1455564644299.jpg

Grease your muffin pan and fill with batter. I used a scoop to make for an easy and clean process!

wp-1455564708601.jpg

Place the muffins in the oven for about 17-19 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the muffin comes out clean.

You can even place the muffins in the freezer and take them out throughout the week for a quick and delicious breakfast or snack 🙂

Enjoy!

wp-1455564753254.jpg

Leave a Reply

