Homemade Baby Headbands

Good afternoon! Today I wanted to write a post about the hobby I’ve had over the last few years. Creating baby headbands was something that interested me so I decided to jump in and give it a shot. It ended up being a great idea! I haven’t been making these as much over the last year because life got busy but I definitely want to get back at it 🙂

These elastic headbands are awesome because you can literally make any color combination and style come to life! The one I am going to show you today is a classic lace band with a lavender flower and bling accent piece.

Materials needed:

  • Elastic lace
  • 1 flower piece
  • 1 crystal embellishment
  • Scissors
  • Thread and needle
  • Tape measurer
  • 1 felt pad
  • Hot glue gun

wp-1457387715483.jpg

The first step is to measure the elastic. The one I did here is 13 inches (which should fit a 3-6 month old). You can check out the sizing chart I use at my4mistersandtheirsister. Once you have the elastic cut, get your needle and thread and sew the two ends together. This is probably the longest part of the whole project, especially when you use lace elastic!

wp-1457387804106.jpg

The headband should look something like the picture once you have it sewn together.

wp-1457387896892.jpg

Now, it’s time for the fun part – be creative! I glued my lavender flower to the headband first. Be sure to glue it above where you sewed it together as to cover up the thread. Next, glue the felt circle to the back side, directly under the flower. This makes it so the headband will be more comfortable to wear for the baby.

wp-1457387983818.jpg

The last step for this headband is to glue on the crystal embellishment. Now your headband is complete! This one is simple and can go with a variety of outfits but let your imagination go wild and see what you can create 🙂

wp-1457388051839.jpg

Leave a Reply

